Soaked Raisins and Oats cookies

20121017-193146.jpg

Oh my god, oh my god, oh my god! I don’t often blow my own trumpet but dam! I’ve outdone myself with this one!

Seriously guys those are the best cookies EVER. I did a lot of research on cookies today, hours in fact, and this is what I decided to do. Most cookie recipes have the same basic ingredients, with very few variations. I really wanted to make something that would be health-ish so I thought some oats would be great. And as I didn’t have chocolate – as Christoph ate my chocolate chips! But bought some more on the way home to make up for eating my baking stuff – I had to check out our cupboards for inspirations. That’s when I saw them. Plump. Juicy. Sweet. Cognac soaked raisins! They have been soaking for months and months and they were forgotten at the back of the cupboard. Well forgotten no more! In fact they are the star of this recipe.

20121017-193951.jpg

Ingredients:

100g butter
100g brown sugar
100g self-raising flour
1/2 tsp of vanilla extract
70g oats
1 egg
Cognac soaked raisins – I didn’t measure this, just added bit by bit until I was happy with the amount!

Pre-heat oven at 180C (160C fan). Whisk the butter and sugar until mixed through. Add the egg and vanilla extract. Mix and add the flour and oats, stirring everything. The mixture will be quite stiff, that’s ok! You can now choose your flavour, I added my soaked raisins (and a little bit of the alcohol in the jar! I could drink it it is so yummy…but I didn’t…ahem, ok just one tiny spoon…)

I made little blobs – it’s a technical term – as I wanted the cookies to be small but feel free to make them as big as you want! With that amount of ingredients and the size I made, it gave me 24 cookies. They then go in the oven on some parchment sheet for 15min.

This recipe is actually really good for freezing. Make double, freeze half and next time you feel like a treat or you get an unexpected visitor, get them out and pop them in the oven. Sorted.

Once baked, leave it to cool on wire rack and dust with icing sugar. Super pretty and super yummy

20121017-195942.jpg

Enjoy!

Xoxo

10 thoughts on “Soaked Raisins and Oats cookies

    • Thank you so much. Your comment has made me so happy! I know, I love it when that happens, as I am sure they better now then they would have been πŸ™‚ x

      Like

  1. Wow, cognac soaked raisins. Love it already!! These are not only beautiful cookies, but they sound and look delicious πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

