Peanut Butter and White Chocolate Cookies

20121023-161702.jpg

Finally! I’ve been meaning to make these little peanut buttery goodness for days! They were so worth the wait and I am glad I didn’t give up on them.

I was talking to a friend today about my baking and how I am kind of weird about it. Ok so here is my big secret: I’m a savoury person! Shock and horror! I know, strange right? Have you ever seen a savoury recipe in here? Nope. Have I often mentioned savoury foods or my love for them? Nope. This is why: I LOVE to eat savoury food, more often than not given the choice between sweet and savoury I will almost always go for savoury. BUT when it comes to cooking, it’s baking that makes me happy. I get super excited about anything I bake and at the same time I also gets this huge sense of tranquility. Do you know what I mean?

At home ,and although I am quite a good cook, Christoph cooks nearly always (not at the moment as he has a lot going and I am unemployed so I am the cook for now!), and I always bake (but he often does make bread or pizza dough). I often will only have a bit of whatever it is that I made then I leave it for Christoph to polish it off or I share it with friends and colleagues. The way I see it is like this: I love savoury and he cooks, he loves my baking and I bake. The way to both of our hearts is through food and it’s one of the many ways we make each other happy!

So, enough with talking and more with the baking!

20121023-161806.jpg

This recipe is from The Great British Bake Off winner 2011, Jo Wheatley, but which I found on Holly‘s blog, another contestant of the Great Bake Off. I followed the recipe on this one, except that I used white chocolate instead – Christoph loves white chocolate – and for me there is only one type of peanut butter and it HAS to be crunchy. Of course if you prefer smooth go for it!

Ingredients:

– 100g unsalted butter, softened

– 100g crunchy peanut butter

– 60g demerara sugar

– 60g caster sugar

– 1 large egg, beaten

– 100g plain flour

– 1/2 tsp baking powder

– 1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda

– 60g white chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 180C/Gas 4/Fan 160C. Mix butter, sugars and peanut butter together until light and fluffy. Beat the egg and slowly add it to the mix, making sure you incorporate it well. Sift the flour, baking powder and bicarbonate of soda into the bowl and mix until it forms a nice dough. Add the white chocolate chips.

Prepare a baking tray with parchment and place dough balls (make them as big or as little as you prefer, I went medium this time!) allowing plenty of space inbetween them! Bake for 5 minutes in the middle of the oven, remove the tray and give it a sharp bang on the work surface to deflate the cookies (careful when you bang! the first one I did I got a bit carried away and it nearly split the cookies in two!). Return to the oven for 5 more minutes until golden brown. Cool slightly on the tray and then transfer to a wire rack to cool.

20121023-161954.jpg

Thank you Holly and Jo for sharing this recipe! Gorgeous!

20121023-162012.jpg

Enjoy!

Xoxo

9 thoughts on “Peanut Butter and White Chocolate Cookies

    • Thank you! Do it do it!

      The combination tastes divine. And if anyone is in doubt just put a little peanut butter on a teaspoon, add a couple of chocolate chips and have a taste to see if you like it. That’s what I did before making a whole batch of them!

      Like

  1. These are absolutely gorgeous !!! BUT … I have a couple of friends who cannot eat peanut butter !! What can I use instead of pb that will be just as fantastic (or nearly anyway) ?? Thanks, Joan

    Like

    • Hi Joan. So sorry for the late reply, I haven’t been active on the blog for a while but I am back now 🙂 I did do some research for you and there are peanut butter substitutes you can get to ensure your friends can have a try. I found this American website called peanutfreeplantet which can give you some ideas!

      Like

  2. I made these a few weeks ago and my family have not stopped talking about them!!! amazing if you are a peanut butter fan like me!!

    Like

    • I’m so glad! They are amazing, it’s been a while since I’ve made them and you’ve just reminded me! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

