Apple Chocolate and Cinnamon mini muffins

20121104-105545.jpg

Hello! I know it has been a while since my last post. The week end before Hallowe’en we went on a family holiday for 4 days and I’m not sure why/how but the days since have been going super fast. I had all those plans for Hallowe’en, decorations, dressing up and food and ended up not doing any of it.

I think it’s because I have been feeling a bit down about this job situation (I’ve had to go and sign on for the first time in my life and it felt really shitty) and I always come out feeling weird after those family week ends. I don’t do well when I have to be around lots of people for more than a day. I’m a bit strange like that and not just with family but friends too.

Saying that I had 2 great moments: My most favourite time was when the kids asked Christoph and I to put them to bed which basically means reading them a bed time story. At the moment it’s Charlie and the Chocolate factory, so I read a chapter to them and we tucked them in for sleep time. The second was when we sat together to cut the pumpkins we got them. They drew on them and we cut where we were told to! They came out brilliant

20121104-104919.jpg

Now I feel a bit better in general and so this means baking is back on!

I was going to make some Brazilian sweets called Brigaderos but I am missing a couple of bits that I need for it so I will make them later in the week.

Instead I made some mini muffins. I used the same recipe I always use for my muffins because it’s so good and super easy. Although they tend to rise a lot more than they did this time and give a real muffin top. I think it’s because I didn’t have enough of a couple of things needed for the ingredients. Don’t worry though I am giving you the proper recipe!

20121104-105511.jpg

Ingredients:

2 cups of self raising flour (I like to use half white and half wholemeal but you do whatever you like!)
1/2 cup of golden caster sugar
1 tsp of baking powder
3/4 cup of milk
1/3 cup of sunflower oil
1 egg (if the egg is too small feel free to put 2)
1 apple cut into small dices so that it cooks in the time it’s in the oven
A couple of handful of milk chocolate drops
A bit of cinnamon (I didn’t measure this, I just put on whatever I wanted, this time so that it goes a subtle flavour)
Extra sugar to sprinkle

Pre-heat oven at 180C or fan 160C.

In a bowl, add your chopped apple bits, chocolate drops and cinnamon. Add the flour, the sugar, the baking powder, the milk, the oil and the egg. Honestly, don’t worry about mixing the dry ingredients first and all that. Just put everything together! Mix it well. The consistency should still be wet but not runny!! (It often depends on what you use for flavour. Bananas can make it really wet so be careful with that).

20121104-110510.jpg

Pour the batter into your buttered muffin tray – or casings if using. Sprinkle some sugar on top. This makes for a crunchy lovely muffin top.

20121104-111134.jpg

I made mine mini ones because I had some small casings and I wanted to use them as I am meeting with a friend for lunch and I will be given her a few. But you don’t have to! Whatever size you decide just make sure you adapt the baking time! I baked mine for 16min.

Enjoy!
Xoxo

20121104-111221.jpg

Leave a Reply

