Delicious Double Chocolate Cake

20121123-185737.jpgHello Hello!

I knew it had been a while since my last post but I didn’t realise it had been this long. So to make up for this long absence I bring to you a deliciously moist and scrumptious double chocolate cake. Am I forgiven?

I made this cake for a friend’s birthday last Sunday and everyone loved it so I am sure you will too. It’s soooooo moist! It was, once again, a Pinterest pin, so that I am keeping up trying my pins instead of just going crazy with the pinning and forgetting about them.

This amount of the ingredients in this recipe is to make a layered caked. I didn’t make a layered cake as for one thing I only have 1 cake tin and for another I simply didn’t have the time. So what happened is that I did my friends cake and with the leftover batter I put it in a small loaf tin to bake and we kept this one for us! It was only small…and I think the baker deserves a little present sometimes…

20121123-184827.jpg

Of course you can make your cake layered and it would probably taste even more awesome!

The original recipe, which I found here, used buttermilk but I couldn’t get any that day so I swapped it for yogurt and it worked great.

Ingredients

For the cake
87g semisweet chocolate
1 1/2 cups hot brewed coffee
3 cups sugar
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 cups unsweetened cocoa powder
2 teaspoons baking soda
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
1 1/4 teaspoons salt
3 large eggs
3/4 cup vegetable oil
1 1/2 cups yogurt
3/4 teaspoon vanilla

For the icing

114g semi-sweet chocolate
a heaping 1/4 cup of icing sugar
3 eggs, well beaten
4 tablespoons butter, room temperature

Preheat oven to 150C.

    To make the cake:

Grease and line your cake tin. Chop the chocolate and add to a bowl with the hot coffee. Let mixture stand, stirring occasionally, until chocolate is melted.

In a large bowl sift together sugar, flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.

In a separate bowl, beat eggs until thickened slightly. Slowly add oil, yogurt, vanilla. Add the melted chocolate mixture, beating until combined well.
Now add the dry mixture you sifted earlier. Mix until combined, don’t over mix.

Add batter to tin (or tins if you are doing a layered cake) and bake 1 hour to 1 hour and 10 minutes, until a skewer comes out clean.

Leave it to cool and it will be ready for icing.

    To make the icing:

In a small saucepan on low heat, melt the chocolate. Stir in the icing sugar sugar. Stir in the eggs. I found this part a bit tricky as it felt very easy to get it lumpy (mine did a little), so you have to be good with your whisk. Cook over low heat until thick then stir in the butter one tablespoon at a time. Leave it to cool before icing the cake.

This cake kept really well, in fact probably better than many cakes I’ve tried. I didn’t keep it in the fridge but well wrapped in a cake tin (that is for the little one that I make for Christoph and I, the birthday one was eaten in 5min).

20121124-123448.jpg

Enjoy!
Xoxo

4 thoughts on “Delicious Double Chocolate Cake

  1. looks lovely sweetie!!! may i suggest instead of chocolate frosting baileys frosting? i made a very similar cke a couple of weeks ago for a parent at school chocolate and coffee layerd cake with bailey’s frosting well it was yummy!!!! even if i say so myself šŸ™‚
    for the frosting: 1 part butter to 2 parts icing sugar (exmple: 250 butter + 500gr butter) and to loosen the mixture baileys to taste and soft creamy constency!!!! if you want to make it impressive use a piping bag fitted with a petal nozzle and make ruffles!!! looks awesome but takes very little skill, trust me hahahah

    Like

    • That alternative sounds delicious, I will definitely have to try that one! I bought a pipping bag today and as soon as it gets delivered I am very much going to play with it….I have never used one so it should be fun! šŸ™‚

      Like

  2. This is a gorgeous cake and I can only imagine how delicious it is!!!! I love the yogurt and coffee in it!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

