Cheesy Biscuit Bites

20121124-184918.jpg

Yes! A savoury recipe! But it’s a biscuit, so it’s baking, so it’s ok…Breathe. Phew!

We had the in-laws for a visit today and we made them a Sunday roast. For while we waited I wanted to make some little bits we could munch on. An aperitif. These were perfect. I made them the day before and forced myself to stay away from them until today.

Those biscuits are deliciously cheesy. I love cheese, all types of cheese, but I have a soft spot for the super smelly ones…cheese stench is just the best. The ones that you open up and you go WOAH and involuntarily take a step back. AMAZING.

BUT worry not if you are not a cheese stench fan, for this recipe I used (strong) Cheddar and Parmesan. They taste strong and salty but for cheesy bites you do need a cheese that will come through otherwise it’s just…tasteless bites! At least I haven’t used anything smelly…not this time…

20121124-184857.jpg

This is another Pinterest pin and I found it in this lovely blog here. She made hers a different shape than mines and that’s the fun of these. You can make it in whatever shape you want. I’ve also adapted them slightly as I added Parmesan to mine. I also divided the dough and added different flavours to it.

20121124-184907.jpg

20121124-184913.jpg

Ingredients:

140g cheddar
30g parmesan
4 tbsp butter
3/4 cup white whole wheat flour
1/4 tsp salt

For flavourings:
1) Sea salt
2) Rosemary
3) Packet of “Aromatic salt” (my mother brought this for me. It contained: sea salt, rosemary, oregano, basil, garlic, thyme. All very very fine. I only sprinkled a little).

Preheat oven to 180C or 160C fan.

In a food processor, pulse all of the ingredients together until it forms a ball. Place the ball between two pieces of parchment paper, and roll it out. Not too thick or it won’t cook properly. Nor too thin or it will burn.

If you fancy adding some flavourings now is the time. The salt can be sprinkled when just about to bake but the dried herbs I preferred to add them to the dough before I rolled it. I’d recommend you adding a little and seeing how that goes. You don’t want an overpowering taste of rosemary for example.

Now…I am the worse at rolling dough. This bit took me foreeeeeeever. And I just got so frustrated with it and that is why I decided to do half of them as cheesy sticks! So much easier, it’s like playing with play-doh and making little snakes. I won’t give up on trying with the rolling, I’ll keep having a go and hopefully I’ll get there one day. But the sticks turned out DELICIOUS! So it was a win win.

Line an oven tray with parchment paper and bake for 8-12 min. Until they start to brown a little on the sides. Keep an eye on them, how long you need to cook them will depend on their thickness and shape.

Leave them to cool.

Eat it all in one go. With lots of wine.

Or, if you don’t want to feel like you are going to die from cheese overdose topped with a slight hangover, store them in an air tight container and nibble at them. With wine. A little.

20121124-184956.jpg

Enjoy!
Xoxo

8 thoughts on “Cheesy Biscuit Bites

  1. hi love,
    these look great!!!
    now for your rolling: get a sugarpaste rolling pin WITH thinkness rings, the rings help you determine the well thinkness of your dough all over. it is pretty self explenatory but very usefull. i only know this since i have been making cakes and using sugar paste a lot 🙂
    I don’t know why normal rolling pin don’t come with these thickness ring as standard. i think we should start a petition hahahahah

    Like

Leave a Reply

