White Chocolate and Ricotta Cheesecake

20130117-091302.jpg

Yay I’m back! Lets get down to business.

So the thing is, I hate Christmas pudding, Christmas cake and mince pies. There, I said it.

Any of those types of fruit cakes would be my worst nightmare to eat. Oh I know everyone thinks that if I tried their Christmas pudding or cake or pie I would change my mind. Hmm no I won’t. I have tried it many times, wanting to believe in those claims and in a way hoping I would finally be able to enjoy a Christmas pudding on Christmas Day. I believe in trying any food before claiming I don’t like it.

So after trying it many times I can confidently say that nope, I don’t like it and I will never like it. It kind of makes me sad as it’s such a big part of Christmas tradition and considering that, individually, I like all the ingredients, it does seem an odd thing.

Hey ho, what you going to do? So for Christmas I decided to look for a recipe that would look Christmassy, taste super yummy and be light. The last thing I want after a huge goose – looooooove goose for Christmas, so much tastier than turkey in my opinion – is something heavy for dessert.

So I searched, for hours, and I found this recipe – another bbcgoodfood gem. It’s perfect. It looks the part and holy bananas it tasted like a slice of fluffy heaven. Oh and did I mention that it easy and quick to make?

Ok so you are probably wondering why am I going on about a Christmas dessert, to get over it, it’s done and dusted for another 342 sleeps? Well the thing is, this cheesecake has nothing to do with Christmas really and can, and will, be made all year around. It has become one of my favourite cakes. Bold statement? Try it and tell me!

20130117-091501.jpg

Recipe taken from the bbcgoodfood website:

Ingredients

FOR THE BASE
50g butter , melted
150g digestive biscuits
50g amaretti biscuits
sunflower oil , for greasing

FOR THE FILLING
200g white chocolate , chopped
5 leaves gelatine
6 tbsp milk
500g tub ricotta
300ml pot double cream
50g icing sugar
2 large eggs , separated

Heat oven to 200C/180C fan/gas 6.

Melt the butter in a pan or microwave. Very finely crush the biscuits together, stir with the butter, then press very firmly into the base of a 20cm round loosebottomed cake tin. Bake for 6 mins. Cool, then wipe around the inside of the tin with a little oil on kitchen paper.

Soak the gelatine in water while you make the filling.

Tip the chocolate into a bowl over a pan of simmering water, then add the milk. Gently heat until melted, then stir together. Squeeze the gelatine dry, add to the chocolate mixture and stir to dissolve.

Beat the ricotta, cream, sugar and egg yolks together. In a separate bowl, whisk the egg whites.

Stir the chocolate and ricotta mixtures together, then gently fold in the egg whites. Carefully pour onto the cooled biscuit base. Cover the tin with cling film, then chill until firm, preferably overnight.

I decorated mine like they recommended, with pomegranate seeds and chocolate shavings (I just added some holly to make it more Christmassy)

20130117-092410.jpg

Seriously delicious!

Xoxo

3 thoughts on “White Chocolate and Ricotta Cheesecake

Leave a Reply

