Homemade Melon, Kiwi, Orange And Lemon Juice

20130627-155339.jpg

So. It’s officially Summer…English Summer that is, with all the grey skies and rain that is associated with it.

On days like today, where I am stuck in the house with all doors and windows closed, not because of the weather for once, which is not bad considering, but because of an extremely bad case of hay fever (picture swollen red streaming eyes, red face, streaming red nose and a look that suggests I have suddenly become brain dead), well on days like this and despite my useless brain I surprise myself and come up with a really good idea. A yummy idea.

I had a load of fruit that was starting to look like in a few days it was going to meet a horrible and mouldy death. I find really hard to eat the “recommended” daily fruit portion. I am not sure why. Vegetables no problem. I can eat plates and plates of it. Fruit, not so much. I love fruit, just don’t want to eat it. Unless it’s a banana of course.

Anyway.

First of all I thought I’d make a smoothie. Then Christoph reminded me that our blender broke.

Fuuuuuuuck!

You know when you get an idea in your head and you just have to do it? I had to do something with those bits of unwanted fruit. Eat it, bake it, blend it, jui….oh hello there stranger!

Since we moved to our beautiful but small kitchen cottage, a lot of our kitchen bits are stored in a larder (well, it’s under the stairs).

And I keep forgetting what we have.

And my lovely red juicer was one of those things!

20130627-155039.jpg

So I set that baby up and grabbed some of that lovely fruit, got chopping and got juicing.

20130627-155639.jpg

Recipe (made 2 glasses):

– 1 melon
– 4 kiwis
– 1 lemon
– 2 oranges
– Ice cubes

Cut your fruit and remove skins – if you have a more commercial juicer you won’t need to remove it but for most house ones I think it is best to do so
Push all through the juicer, taking care to not overload it, 1 or 2 pieces at a time is perfect.

Put some ice in your glasses and pour this delectable beverage. Add a straw (mandatory if you ask me).

You can also juice your oranges and lemon in a special juicer for them, but I don’t have a small manual one and to be honest I couldn’t be bothered going to ‘the larder’ to get my electric one! Also if you don’t have a juicer but you do have a blender you can make this the exact same way! Add all your peeled fruit to the blender (you can also add the ice at this point if you want or leave it out for the glass), blend and you are done!

20130627-160401.jpg

This juice is amazing! Refreshing, easy to make, it’s 1 of your 5 a day and it tastes gorgeous! Just what I needed during a hot summer’s day.

20130627-160754.jpg

Enjoy!
Xoxo

7 thoughts on “Homemade Melon, Kiwi, Orange And Lemon Juice

Leave a Reply

