{Guest Post} Strawberry Cupcakes with Strawberry Frosting

20130703-222626.jpg
Today, to celebrate our 1 year anniversary – it has gone so fast! – here are the cupcakes we had at our wedding. To talk more about them I am lucky to have my best friend as a guest on little bits of nice. She is sharing with us her awesome skills and the beautiful cupcake recipe she used to make them for our wedding, which she spent the whole of the day before the wedding making. That’s friendship for you!

Hello everyone,

I cannot possibly take credit for creating these amazing cupcakes BUT I will take credit for the baking and frosting!

Here is the link from where I got them http://gastronomyblog.com/2009/03/24/strawberry-cupcakes-with-strawberry-frosting/

Please note that in the frosting I have swapped the fresh strawberry puree for strawberry jam. BUT, not just any jam: I live in Sweden and theirs is not as sweet, which is really important as you don’t want it too be overly sweet.

NOTA BENE: The reason I chose not to use the strawberry puree is that if I wanted the taste I got a runny butter cream. And if I wanted the perfect consistency I would not have the taste. So I had to find a solution. Therefore, one night around 4 am, yes 4am, I woke up and realised what the answer to my problem was.
NOTA BENE 2: You can get hold of Swedish strawberry jam or SYLT as they call it at your local IKEA in the UK! They sell two kinds, well at least they do in Sweden, I would suggest the organic one. I am not an organic person per se but I would go organic in this instance.

And yes, I took it on the plane in my hand luggage with all the other kitchen tools I would need to prep these beauties for the wedding!

I did get some funny looks from the baggage controller when he told me to open my hand luggage and asked me ‘Var ar det?’, which is Swedish for ‘what’s this then?’. Well, I told the very nice officer that I was a wedding cake maker and that I could not possibly work without my tools and my special Swedish ingredients, and he just let me go…

These cupcakes were THOROUGHLY tested by a panel of experts: My husband David, my daughter Hermione as well as a few mums on play dates and they all loved them. Then in May when I visited, they tried them and loved them so that’s why they made the cut!

20130703-222643.jpg
Ok enough rambling ….So here is the recipe.

For cupcakes

2/3 cup whole fresh or frozen strawberries, thawed
1 1/2 cups sifted all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon coarse salt
1/4 cup whole milk, room temperature
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
1 cup sugar
1 large egg, room temperature
2 large egg whites, room temperature

For frosting
1/2 cup whole frozen strawberries, thawed OR 2/3 teaspoons of good quality jam
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, firm and slightly cold
Pinch of coarse salt
1 1/4 cups confectioners’ sugar, sifted
1/4 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Make cupcakes

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a 12-cup muffin tin with cupcake liners; set aside.

Place strawberries in a small food processor; process until pureed. You should have about 1/3 cup of puree, add a few more strawberries if necessary or save any extra puree for frosting; set aside.

In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, and salt; set aside. In a small bowl, mix together milk, vanilla, and strawberry puree; set aside.

In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream butter on medium-high speed, until light and fluffy. Gradually add sugar and continue to beat until well combined and fluffy. Reduce the mixer speed to medium and slowly add egg and egg whites until just blended.
With the mixer on low, slowly add half the flour mixture; mix until just blended. Add the milk mixture; mix until just blended. Slowly add remaining flour mixture, scraping down sides of the bowl with a spatula, as necessary, until just blended.

Divide batter evenly among prepared muffin cups.

Transfer muffin tin to oven and bake until tops are just dry to the touch, 22 to 25 minutes. Transfer muffin tin to a wire rack and let cupcakes cool completely before icing. This is very important or it will make the icing runny!

Make frosting

If using fresh strawberries: Place strawberries in the bowl of a small food processor; process until pureed.

In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat together butter and salt on medium speed until light and fluffy. Reduce mixer speed and slowly add confectioners’ sugar; beat until well combined. Add vanilla and 3 tablespoons strawberry puree/jam. Mix until just blended. Do not overmix or frosting will incorporate too much air. Frosting consistency should be dense and creamy, like ice cream.

Pipe your frosting as you wish.

COOL THING: they freeze well, both separately and together !!!

HAPPY BAKING…

Alina
Xoxo

20130703-222552.jpg

2 thoughts on “{Guest Post} Strawberry Cupcakes with Strawberry Frosting

  1. I can’t wait to make this frosting! I have a strawberry cake that i make and the frosting always comes out too runny. The puree is a fantastic idea…..kind of glad it came to you at 4 am instead of me. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

