Flourless Almond Cake

20130710-200940.jpg
I think I am on a mission to use up all leftover ingredients that I have before I go ahead and restock with other baking bits. This helps in keeping everything as fresh as possible but also, by using up what I already have, I am not spending any money and yet still eating delicious treats. Win win I believe!

I had quite a bit of blanched whole almonds leftover and I was looking for something to do with them. Which meant that I got my blender wiz-thingy and grounded those almonds down right there and then.

I was ready! As it was the first time I was using it as a flour replacement, I searched a bit and found this wonderful recipe. It calls for almond flour but it can be substituted for finely ground almonds, which is what I used. If you have almond flour instead use that!

20130710-201041.jpg
Very slightly adapted from Simply Recipes

Ingredients

4 eggs at room temperature
2 tbsp lemon zest
1/4 teaspoon ground cardamom
100 g sugar
170 g finely ground almonds
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon white vinegar
Pinch of salt
Icing sugar

Preheat the oven to 175 °C. Butter everywhere and place some parchment paper on the bottom the tin.

Beat together with a wooden spoon the egg yolks, lemon zest, and 1/4 cup sugar until smooth.
In a separate bowl, mix the almond flour, ground cardamom, and baking powder. Add the flour mixture to the wet mixture and beat until smooth.

Whisk the egg whites, starting on low speed and gradually increasing the speed. When bubbles start to form, add a pinch of salt and the teaspoon of vinegar. As it starts growing sprinkle in the remaining 1/4 cup of sugar, a little at a time, as you continue to whisk. It will be ready when soft peaks forms.

Fold it into the almond mixture a bit at the time. The lady on the blog explains that “you won’t get much lift with the first third of the egg whites, but as you add more, you’ll be able to gently fold in the whites in such a way as to create a light batter”. This really reassured me when I made this so I thought it important to add it here too.

Slowly add the batter to the tin. Bake for 35 minutes. Leave it to cool taking care to the sides as they might stick a little. Dust with icing sugar.

20130710-201048.jpg
This cake won’t rise much but is super light, fluffy and quite delicate!

Enjoy
Xoxo

2 thoughts on “Flourless Almond Cake

  1. Thank you for this, it sounds delicious, I feel like rushing back to the kitchen and making one. I also like your philosophy of using up all the bits before buying new – I try and do that too and it does lead to new adventures sometimes, amazing what you can come up with.

    Like

Leave a Reply

