Nutty Flapjacks

20130808-192707.jpg
I know flapjacks are one of those things that people tend to love or hate. I used to be part of the latter group. I always found flapjacks to be dry and just ‘too much’. I can’t explain it better than that. I like mine to be slightly crumbly, soft and light.

Then one day, after having mistakenly bought a ridiculous amount of oats, I decided to give them a go and see if homemade flapjacks would change my mind about them.

20130808-192744.jpg
I don’t want to blow my own trumpet but these flapjacks are gorgeous. I always add dates to them, it gives them an amazing toffee flavour, and whatever type of nut I have available. As I still had some walnuts – you will be glad to hear that they are gone now, so it is safe to say that there will not be recipes with walnuts for a while! – I added them to the mix too. Worked a treat.

So if you aren’t a fan of hard and dry flapjacks, try this. You never know!

20130808-192832.jpg
adapted from bbcgoodfood cookbook

Ingredients:

250g oats
140g golden syrup
50g light muscovado sugar
175g butter
100g dates
75g walnuts

Preheat oven at 180C/160C fan

Put the dates in a pan with enough water to cover them. Cook until they become soft. Drain and set aside. Chop when cooled.

Chop your walnuts and set aside.

In a pan melt the butter, syrup and sugar until it all dissolved.

In a bowl add the oats, the chopped walnuts and dates. Pour the melted butter/syrup mixture and stir in so that all oats are coated and ingredients well mixed.

In a lined baking tray, pour the mixture and spread evenly. Bake for 20-25 min (if you prefer your flapjacks harder leave it for a while longer).

Remove from the oven and leave it to cool in the tray for a few minutes. Once cooled slightly cut your squares – big or small is up to you!

Leave to cool completely before removing them from the tray.
20130808-192842.jpg
I love these flapjacks. How do you like yours?

Xoxo

7 thoughts on “Nutty Flapjacks

    • I think it could actually, the consistence is similar, let me know how it takes it if you do! Should be nice!

      Like

Leave a Reply

