Crumbly Buttery Biscuits – Two Ways

20131110-082339.jpgWooooooohooooo biscuits! /full body dance

I realised a couple of days ago that I hadn’t posted any sweet baked goods in a while. What the heck was that about I hear you ask? I have no idea! Maybe it was because of Halloween and all that chocolate I gobbled up. Or maybe it’s due to a general feeling of meh that I have been stuck in for the past few weeks. And as I relate baking to happiness, I just wasn’t feeling it.

But, I am trying to get more positive and maybe I am feeling the winds of change (Scorpions anyone? I’ve just asked my husband to put it on on YouTube. Imagine 2 crazy bed haired people singing, a bit of air guitar going on at 8am on a Sunday morning…YEAH!). Yes, erm anyway…

So yes, feeling positive, meant that the first thing I wanted to do was to go to the kitchen and turn the oven on. Aah a day of cooking and baking. Does it get better than that? I think not! So I put my piny on, got some tunes playing, a bit of singing and dancing going and I was happy. Wooooo this was going to be such an awesome day \o/…

Have you ever had one of those days where everything you try to do borders on disaster? I don’t know what the hell happened but that’s what my first time baking in a while day was like. And just when I thought I couldn’t pull it off…TA DA! These delicious crumbly bits of heaven came out of the oven. 20131110-084332.jpg20131110-084349.jpg

I was so relieved because I set out to do something completely different when I realised too late that I didn’t have half the ingredients I needed. So I just went for it and substituted and crossed toes, legs, arms and fingers…

I looked weird but it was for the greater good.

Seriously they came out awesome! A little bit of buttery, crumbly goodness that melts in the mouth. Impossible to have only one, temptuous little devils, I had to ‘ration’ Christoph until I could take a decent picture otherwise all 32 of them would have been gone in 5 minutes. I made them 2 ways, one ‘plain’ and one with a jammy middle using my Homemade Raspberry Jam. Eat one then the other or stuff both in. AT THE SAME TIME! 20131110-084400.jpg20131110-084409.jpg

Recipe for Buttery Crumbly Biscuits – Two ways

Ingredients:
– 250g softened butter
– 100g caster sugar
– 1tsp vanilla extract
– 1 egg yolk
– 200g self raising flour
– 100g ground almonds
Optional:
– caster sugar for dusting
– raspberry jam

Pre-heat oven to gas 4/180C non fan

Beat butter and sugar in a bowl until creamy and fluffy. Add your extract and egg yolk. Beat until all mixed in. Add the flour and ground almond, incorporating well. It will be a sticky dough. Panic not! Wrap it with some cling film and chill in fridge for at least a couple of hours.

Once chilled your dough will have hardened enough so you can roll it out. Sprinkle some flour and start rolling out. You don’t want them to be too thick but neither do you want them too thin. Using a cutter cut out your biscuits and repeat the process until you have used up your dough. It gave me 32 with a 2 1/4 inch/58mm cutter.

Now you can either pop them in the oven as it is or you can have your jammy centres. I made half half. To make it just other use a small spoon to have a round dent on your biscuit or your fingers, works just as well! Add a little jam and you’re ready to pop in oven. Remember! Spread them out enough as they do expand.

Bake for 10-12min. Keep an eye on it, you don’t want it to be brown. When the sides start getting golden they are ready. Take out of oven. They will feel soft but don’t worry they will harden up a little as they cool. Leave it to cool in the tray for a few minutes. If you take them out too early they will crumble on you. Sprinkle with some caster sugar if using and transfer to a rack to cool completely.

I hope you enjoy these! Happy Sunday everyone!

Xoxo

10 thoughts on “Crumbly Buttery Biscuits – Two Ways

  1. Love these pretty cookies. I think they would be perfect for Christmas time.– But I’ll have to work a bit to “translate” all the measurements into my kitchen. thanks bunches!

    Like

Leave a Reply

