Preserved Lemons

20140109-155626.jpg

Back a couple of months ago I kept seeing recipes that needed preserved lemons. Do you get that? That suddenly a particular ingredient seems to be everywhere you look? It was crazy. And seeing preserved lemons everywhere got me to crave it in just about everything.

Knowing it was an easy thing to do I decided to try and make my own instead of buying. Obviously this meant waiting to be able to make all those recipes I kept seeing. Could I wait? If there is one thing I am not, is patient. I try my best and I’m getting better…maybe. But I decided that I could do it, I could wait. Because homemade food is awesome right?
20140109-154632.jpg
And let me tell you, they were worth the wait, every day of it. And now I’ve forgotten what or where I saw all those millions of recipes that made me want to do it in the first place! Not to worry! With some of it I made a wonderful Sunday roast with it and the chicken was so juicy and tender, the gravy had a lemony twang and everything just smelled and tasted gorgeous. It was like a bit of sunshine on a rainy day.
20140109-155639.jpg
I used Jamie Oliver’s recipe for preserved lemons. I love Jamie Oliver. It’s my kind of tasty no nonsense home food and I have lots of his cookbooks.

Recipe from Jamie does …:

10 unwaxed lemons
200g coarse sea salt
2 fresh bay leaves
7 pepepercorns
2 sticks of cinnamon

Sterilise your jar/jars. I only have smallish jars so I had to do in a couple.

Squeeze the juice of 5 lemons. Cut a deep cross on your other remaining lemons, taking care to not cut all the way. Pack a tsp of salt into the centre of each one of them.

Put them all tightly packed, pushing them in, into your jar/jars with the rest of your salt, bay leaves, peppercorns and cinnamon sticks. Pour the lemon juice and top up with water. Seal tightly, shake it every few days to move the salt around and leave it for at least one month in a cool dark place.

Seriously good and very easy to do!
20140109-155827.jpg

Xoxo

28 thoughts on “Preserved Lemons

  1. I’ve been meaning to make some preserved lemons for my mum who loves them – definitely going to use this recipe. Love Jamie as well – proper home cooking!

    Like

  2. Yummi! πŸ™‚ I love preserved Lemons as well. As I cook lots of Moroccon food and it very very commond to use it there. Have some recipes from there how to make them. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • They are so good aren’t they! And yes there are so many flavours you can add to it when you are preserving. I love it!

      Like

  3. They’re so pretty… it makes me wonder exactly what you use preserved lemons for… I’ll be googling them very soon!! I think I need to make them, based on looks only, but I have a feeling that they’ll be something that I wonder where they’ve been all my life! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Thanks! Do have a look around and you will see lots of different recipes for it. It’s wonderful! πŸ˜€

      Like

  4. I love preserved lemons–they’re great to have on hand for recipes that call for them, but usually, I just add them to any salad dressing or mezze platter for a little bit of zing. I can’t wait to try this Jamie Oliver recipe!

    Like

  5. Remember those prawns we grilled in stockholm with the preserve lemons marinade!!! What a fun week end that was!!!!

    Like

  6. As per usual i live in a country where you cant just pop and buy a jar of these little beauties!!! If i fancy them i have to wait a month hahaha talk about delayed gratification in a society where instant gratification is the plat du jour!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

