No-Knead Wholemeal Poppy And Sesame Seed Bread

20140123-082842.jpgI’ve been wanting to make this type of no-knead bread for a long time. But as I have at home my very own bread maker in the form of my husband – who surprises me every so often when I wake up to the smell of freshly baked bread and I know I’m in for a delicious breakfast, but who also tends to bake a general loaf once a week to accompany soups, work lunches etc. – this means that I have never needed to bake my own. In our house I bake everything else but bread is his territory. And I love the bread he makes, like his Soda Bread or his Caraway, Rye and Ale Bread. Delicious right? 20140123-082901.jpgBUT this week there was no bread to go with a warming spicy vegetable soup I made. So it was with a sense of guilt that I went ahead and made my first ever bread. I was stepping onto his territory and I was feeling naughty but, admittedly, also really excited! And that soup wanted noting more than to be accompanied by some crusty tasty bread…20140123-082914.jpgFor this loaf I used a couple different recipes and also adapted with what I had in the pantry. I had no white strong flour so I used wholemeal instead. In fact, I used 2 types of wholemeal: one normal and one strong. I also added the sesame and poppy seeds as I think they are delicious in bread. Just remember that if you want to make this to take into account that it needs 12-20hrs resting.

So here we go. Recipe adapted from SmarterFitter and The New
York Times No-Knead Bread

30g Rye flour
70g Wholemeal flour
370g Strong wholemeal flour
1/4 tsp of Instant Yeast
1 1/4 tsp of Salt
2 tbsp of Yogurt
350ml of Water
Poppy seeds
Sesame seeds

Add all of your dry ingredients into a bowl. I separate the salt from the yeast putting them at different sides of bowl. I don’t have a measurement for you on the seeds as I just winged it and added what looked right for me. Don’t add all of it though as you will need it to coat the outside of loaf.

Add your water and yogurt and mix until it looks a bit of a wet shaggy mess. Add more water if you need (I had to add an extra 50ml or so for it to look right). Cover with a plastic film and forget about it for at least 12hrs. I left mine for 20hrs. You will know it will be ready as it will be full of little air bubbles.

Lightly flour your work surface and drop the wet dough in. Using a bit of flour fold the dough onto itself a couple of times. Cover for 15min.

Sprinkle generously a cloth with flour and your seeds. Put the dough on the seeds ‘seam’ down. This will be the top of your loaf and you want it covered in seeds. Sprinkle flour and cover with a second cloth. Leave it to rest for a good 2 hours.

Preheat your oven at gas 8/230C/450F. At least 30min before your loaf is ready to go in, put your cast iron casserole in the oven (mine is sized 20cm in diameter. It was a gift from Christoph parents and we LOVE it!) 20140123-153604.jpg
Leave it in the oven until the dough is ready to go in.

Turn the dough onto the dish, seeds facing up. Give the dish a quick shake as this will help shape the dough (use your oven gloves!! I remembered very last minute, thank goodness or it would have been incredibly bad!). Put lid on and put it in the oven for 30min. After those 30min remove the lid and bake for another 15min or until top is crusty.

Leave it to cool completely on a rack….which I didn’t do! Naughty me! But it was looking so good and I was so excited, not to mention hungry! 20140123-082921.jpg

Ps: Is anyone else having problems with WordPress? I’ve noticed that a few blogs I follow I don’t seem to follow anymore! I’ve been thinking this to be the case for a while now and whenever I notice it I have to go and follow the blog again! And some of the ones I still do their posts don’t appear on my reader. Hmmm, it’s all very odd! So, if you are one of those blogs wondering why I am no longer following you, well, I have no idea! And I am sorry! I’m trying to remember all the ones that could be missing but if I’ve missed yours please let me know!

19 thoughts on “No-Knead Wholemeal Poppy And Sesame Seed Bread

  1. Theres nothing like home made bread. My husband and I did a bread making course last summer. It was great fun. I wrote a post about it. I’ve never tried no knead bread. I find kneading is great for managing your stress levels. Thanks for sharing. Emma xx

    Like

    • haha that made me laugh. Yes! I’ll lend him to you guys 😛 Get your boyfriend to check out his soda bread post, as it’s a very straight forward one to make as no rising needed! Start small and next thing you know he might make you some incredible platted loaf! Imagine that!

      Like

Leave a Reply

