Homemade Apple Jam

20140225-203201.jpgApples. I’m funny about apples. I love apples. But I don’t like eating them…Erm…wait…what? 

I will eat apples in many forms: compote, in pies, poached, in cakes and even if cut into small bits with some creamy natural yogurt. But ask me to bite into one and I can feel my mouth recoiling in horror. Don’t ask me why, that’s just how it is. Take it as another insight into my quirky mind. Or just think of me as being weird. However you view it, I believe in this instance that you will be grateful for it. For I bring to you today a recipe for Apple Jam.

That’s right. Jam. Not a compote, but a jam that you can spread on buttered toast. You’re with me? I thought so!
20140225-203239.jpg
Why jam? Well, it all came about as Christoph bought a huge bag of apples, ate a few and as he travels during the week left them there to slowly go off. I would go past our veg and fruit basket and see them, everyday. Christoph would come back home and I would mention the apples. Maybe one would get eaten and before we knew it, it was a new week and he was off again.

Those poor apples started to look sad. Unloved. And I don’t care if I’m not too fond of a type of food, I cannot see it go to waste and be put in the bin. They were not good enough for an apple pie, cake and I couldn’t think of anything I fancied to use them up in. I thought of lots of different things to make and after waking up one day craving some toast and jam for breakfast and finding out we didn’t have any I thought ‘That’s it! Apple Jam!’

I had never had apple jam before. So I thought I’d give it a go. I made a very simple jam, no added spices – as you can always sprinkle some cinnamon on top of your toast if you fancy! Or other spices. Making it super versatile for your taste buds.
20140225-203302.jpg
Please keep in mind that those measurements are due to the fact I was using what I had at home. Do adapt to your needs.

– 640g Apples, peeled and cored

– 480g Jam Sugar (with Pectin)

– 2 tbsp lemon juice

Chop your apples to a smallish size and add them to a deep pan along with your lemon juice and sugar and stir it all in. Cook it on medium heat until the apples are soft

Bring it to boil. Cook it for a good 10 minutes or until the consistency is right (you can do the cold plate test: put a plate in the freezer and take it out when you think it’s ready and if you put it on the plate and push it with your fingers and it wrinkles, your jam is ready).

What I then did is that I blitzed it so that it was smooth. You don’t have to do this if you don’t want to. I didn’t blitz it tooooo much and there were still some small bits in and I loved the mix between smooth and bits of apple. But if you prefer chunkier go with it!

Grab your sterilised jars and add the jam. Close the lids and leave it to cool. As a complete fluke the amount it made fit perfectly into 2 Bonne Maman jam jars!
20140225-203324.jpg
This jam is delicious. It is subtle – to start although it does seem to develop even more in the jar for a stronger apple taste – and super tasty and, as I said before, you can spicy it up as much or as little as you want once you have it spread on some nice buttery toast. Hit the spot perfectly!

xoxo

26 thoughts on “Homemade Apple Jam

  1. I’m so proud of you for saving those sad destitute apples! But I’m not sure I can understand your dislike of the raw apple … hmmm. I think we need to sit down and have a chat about this 😉
    However, if it means you end up cooking amazing things like this jam, I suppose I can forgive you! Lovely idea 🙂

    Like

    • I don’t like throwing food away! And I don’t understand it either, it’s one of the many little things I have…our chat could be a long one…

      Like

    • Sorry, you’re comment was in my spam so did not see it until now. You can share this with pleasure 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

