Liebster award and Food Blog Award

20131113-211121.jpgOk so before I get into this post properly I just have to say that I am sorry for disappearing on you guys. I got a new job recently (yay!) and I now have considerably less time during the week. And I’ve been so tired and busy at week ends that I’ve not had a chance to bake anything! BUT, I did get to bake a GORGEOUS cake today that I will share with you by the end of the week!

Right, back to the post…

The other day I was so surprised while reading one of my favourite blogs, The Little Button Diaries, to find that they had nominated me for the Liebster award! I didn’t even know they read my blog! I was so happy 🙂

I had the pleasure of meeting Laura, one of the ladies at Little Button, at the Super Super Bake Off Competition (I did a post about it here) and she is one of those people that you like instantly. You know what I mean? She is just so lovely.

As some of the questions I need to answer to accept the award and pass it on I have already answered (click here for the awards and question/answer/facts), I will only answer the ones I haven’t already! I hope that’s ok! Also I will keep their format of the award as I have given so many random facts about me already!

food-blog-awards-2

I also got a Food Blog award from 2 Italian bloggers, BrontoloinPentola & Foodbloggermania. I have to admit that my Italian is near non-existant really and I understand a tiny little bit simply because I speak Portuguese and Spanish but by no means do I understand it that well (I do ok with recipes weirdly enough!). So I apologise in advance if I did this blog receiving completely wrong! I tried searching for this award elsewhere but I couldn’t find it! But as far as I understood it is a question of accepting it and paying it forward? I think…I’ll put my nominations below 🙂

For now, here are the questions from Little Buttons for the Liebster Award:

Why did you start the blog?

I started this blog because I wanted to share little bits of nice that happened in my life. Life had dealt me some really hard blows but I felt that 2012 was the year where I would be able to start smiling again. Now this blog has evolved to be mostly about my passion of food and baking!

What is your favourite book?

Cyrano de Bergerac (a french play). I first read this play when I was 14 and I must have read it and re-read it a thousand times. I lost my copy of it many years ago now but it had been read so much it was falling apart. ‘Hercule Savinien Cyrano de Bergerac, a cadet (nobleman serving as a soldier) in the French Army, is a brash, strong-willed man of many talents. In addition to being a remarkable duelist, he is a gifted, joyful poet and is also shown to be a musician. However, he has an extremely large nose, which is the reason for his own self-doubt. This doubt prevents him from expressing his love for his distant cousin, the beautiful and intellectual heiress Roxane, as he believes that his ugliness denies him the “dream of being loved by even an ugly woman.”‘ (taken from Wikipedia). I’m a hopeless romantic, what can I say!

What is your most prized possession?

Any photos or memoribilia of my dad.

What is your favourite blog post (provide a link)? (I’m taking this the same way Little Button did)

Gosh that’s a tough one! But I think that it was, strangely enough, my post on the first Liebster Award I got. I was very surprised as I honestly didn’t think anyone read or liked my post that much. I was so so happy!  And I still can’t beleive when I do get an award.

What’s the worst item of food you’ve ever tasted?

Oh god I think it must be when I lived in Spain, about 10 yrs ago now,and I tried to make some calamari at home and got it so so wrong! I don’t know what I did but it was the most disgusting think I have ever eaten or made! And I adore calamari! I was so gutted.

Who (or what) makes you laugh?

My husband. We laugh ALL of the time. Seriously, people look at us as if we are crazy.

What thing do you do less, that you actually think you should do more often?

Read a book. I love reading but I find very hard to find the time to dedicate to reading a book the way I’d like to!

What motivates you to keep blogging?

My passion and love for baking, wanting to share it with you all and getting to know each one of you. I love the world of blogs and the idea of sharing someone’s passion and knowledge/dicovery, I think it’s really awesome.

And now for the nominees!

Nominees for the Food Blog Award:

– Dimple @ Shivaay Delights

– Serena @ The Cake Revolution

– Radhika @ Sugar & Spice

Nominees for the Liebster Award:

– The lovely lady @ Pink Lace Wings and @Korean Mutt

– Trixie @ Almonds are Mercurial

– The Lady behind @ The Hungry Mum

Thank you everyone for your support and nominations! If you wish to pass on my nominations, you know what to do!

xoxo

 

14 thoughts on “Liebster award and Food Blog Award

  1. Uber congratulations!!! And thank you so much 🙂 I’m blushing, grinning and falling off my chair. I think I look more than a little drunk … 😀

    Like

    • Thank you very much! It is one the nice things about awards and getting to know fellow bloggers a bit more 🙂

      Like

  2. You’re very welcome for the award. We love your blog. We meant to contact everyone but my return to work and Tia having a baby we forgot! We great to meet you at the baking competition too lovely lady xx

    Like

    • Thanks Emma. I’m sorry you’ve had a difficult time last year. It was a bad year for us too. So I’ll wish for a better year for both our families 🙂 xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

