Bolo de Fuba {Brazilian Cornmeal Cake} with Coconut

20140325-105722.jpg
I don’t know why but recently I have had so many cravings for various different brazilian foods that I remember from my childhood. And every time I make something it takes me back to wonderful childhood memories, to happy times with my parents in Brazil.

I cannot think of anything more evocative than food. The smell, the taste, the process of making it, it’s so very powerful.

I keep looking through some recipe books my mother sent me and ‘ooh-ing’ and ‘ahhh-ing’ and showing the various recipes to my husband while babbling on about how delicious it is and how we should make it and that I remember the time when and how we should go out immediately to buy the ingredients.

What makes making all those wonderful foods even better is that not only do I get to take a trip down memory lane, but I get to introduce my husband to food from where I come from and food that has been part of my growing up. And which will, we hope, be food our future children will enjoy.
20140325-105739.jpg
We have now made many things, from Coxinha de Galinha (my husbands favourite) to Bolinho de Bacalhau, Brigadeiros (which I have shared the recipe with you here and here) and Caipirinha (not that I had that as a child! haha). And my latest trip down memory lane has been through this Bolo de Fuba. 

Bolo de fuba is a brazilian corn cake. There are many many variations on how to make it. Not only because you can make 2 types of Bolo de Fuba (Bolo de Fuba or Bolo de Fuba Cremoso) but also within each type everyone claims to have the best recipe and they all vary. Some only slightly. Others hugely.
20140325-105727.jpg
The other small issue I had, was the brazilian measurements. I am really unfamiliar with them as they can be vague. They wouldn’t be for people living in brazil but for me I found them a little baffling. For example when a recipe said ‘a box of’ or ‘a can of’ I had no idea what size these are meant to be. And I didn’t want to get this wrong for 1) I don’t like wasting ingredients and 2) I didn’t want to have to say to my husband ‘honestly, it’s a lot better than this. Really. I promise’.
20140325-105711.jpg
So I searched and searched and searched some more. After a huge amount of research, with the help of my mother, I decided to make Bolo de Fuba com Coco {Corn Cake with Coconut}. And luckily I found a recipe from a Brazilian lady that lives in the US and therefore had measurements I was more familiar with. HURRAH! I was so happy.

Now, one thing about her recipe. Although it’s delicious and perfect in every way, it is the most time-consuming of all the recipes I looked at. It is made using various bowls and phases. Not that it takes much time at all, but comparing to all other recipes where it was very much a ‘chuck it all in’ case. But I followed it to the letter and it turned out gorgeous, light and fluffy. I could see myself making this again and again. I would also highly recommend checking out her blog. She has amazing recipes!

Anyway, enough babbling! Gosh, that was a long chat wasn’t it?
20140325-105733.jpg
The recipe was taken from Blogging Foods. She has a great step by step instructions so I thought all I would do is put the ingredients list here so you can see what you would need but to direct you to her website for the full recipe.

Ingredients

1 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
1 1/2 cup sugar
4 eggs, yolks and whites separated
1 cup flour
1 1/4 cup fine cornmeal
1 cup coconut milk
1/2 cup milk
1 cup shredded coconut, dried or fresh
1 teaspoon baking powder

Note: She adds a topping sprinkling of sugar, cinnamon and shredded coconut. I only used the shredded coconut as for me it would have been too sweet with sugar on top. Oh and it is best eaten the same day. ALthough I took some of it to work the next day and it still tasted gorgeous, just slightly less fluffy.

I hope you try this! I could not think of a better recipe to take to this week’s #Fiesta Friday over @ The Novice Gardener!

Fiesta Friday Badge Button I party @

It is best taken as an afternoon snack with coffee but I have also had some for breakfast…

I also had some leftover batter (as my cake tin is small) and made some cute little cakes using a muffin tin (baking it for 22min). IT WAS AMAZING! Bite size Bolo de Fuba? Yes please!

Much love to you all

xoxo
20140325-105747.jpg

55 thoughts on “Bolo de Fuba {Brazilian Cornmeal Cake} with Coconut

  1. Your cake looks gorgeous! So true about how evocative food can be! One sniff of certain foods and I go flying back in time. It’s the next best thing to time travel 🙂

    Like

    • Haha do you know I was thinking about it the other day! I just need to find the proper flour for it, which is quite difficult in England. I’ll do some research! You will have to come visit if you want some though!

      Like

  2. Diana, this is such a nice story and I’m glad you were able to find a recipe with the right measurements. I can relate to wanting to make a dish from childhood, but not knowing the right ingredients or measurements. The cake looks so tasty!

    Like

    • I was so glad to find it too. It’s really hard for me to work out the measurements. Which is I get so annoyed with myself with! You should try it, it tastes so very good 🙂

      Like

    • Yes, I adore coconut (as you may have noticed as there are quite a few recipes with it!), it’s so tasty and goes so well in baking I find. Thanks for stopping by, I will be doing my round of the Fiesta soon!

      Like

    • Oh my goodness yes you should! Particularly if you lived in Brazil. I had this cake so much during my childhood. I’m sure you would love it 🙂

      Like

    • Do it do it! It’s so good, I cannot say this enough 🙂 my work colleagues keep asking for it every day since as they loved it so much. It made me super happy 🙂

      Like

  3. Looks delicious! And I enjoyed reading your post 🙂 Food really does take us back, eh? And I don’t think there are any Brazilian restaurants here in Brighton – do you know of any?

    Like

    • Thanks Karinna 🙂 It really does take you back. It’s a wonderful thing. There is one Brazilian restaurant in Brighton – called Preto in West Street – that we went to and to be honest with you it was a huge disappointment. The staff were grumpy, the place looked sad and the meat was overcooked every time. I would not go back or recommend. Such a shame as had it been good I would have gone there all the time!

      Like

  4. It is hard when you try to recreate a dish that someone has made for years and their measurements are vague. It is terrific that you found a good source, your cake looks great.

    Like

Leave a Reply

