{Pudim de Leite Condensado} – Brazilian Flan with Condensed Milk

Pudim de Leite Condensado

Forget healthy. Forget diets. Forget trying to be good. This is the stuff you eat because, well, you sometimes just deserve it. Don’t fight it. It’s ok. I promise.

This is another trip down memory lane for me. My mother is an amazing cook. I have so many memories of her in the kitchen when I was growing up, of coming home after school to the most wonderful smells that promised a delicious dinner. As soon as I got close to the front door I knew what we would be having for dinner. And I couldn’t wait.

As many memories as I have of those meals, I have very few memories of times when she would be making something sweet. At home we were all more keen on savoury food and therefore sweet is not something we had very often. But there are a few things that I remember my mother making and Brigadeiros, Bolo de Fuba and Pudim are amongst the most vivid.

There are few things that make me happier than sharing those memories and tastes with Chris.  And I am proud to say that so far so good! All have been received with great excitement and eaten with great enthusiasm. What more could I ask for?

So, back to this delicious Pudim – Chris loves loves loves saying Pudim. Not pudding. Poodgin. He says it whenever he can and it makes me laugh so much! – anyway yes the Pudim. The loose translation of flan doesn’t do it justice to be honest. I’m not even sure I would call it flan personally. For me personally I see it more like a mix of flan (for looks)  and crema catalana (for the creaminess). Oh my goodness. Crema catalana is sooooo good. Must make this soon…I’m easily distracted today.

Pudim de Leite Condensado (2)

There are so many variations of Pudim. This one with condensed milk is considered the classic version of it. And let me tell you: Classic is best. It is super creamy, topped with caramel sauce. It is tasty and satisfying. The only downside is that it is far far too easy to eat that you have to have a certain amount of self control not to eat the whole thing in one sitting. I know people say this a lot, me included, but this time I can honestly say I am not exaggerating in order to bring you guys images of deliciousness. It is the absolute truth. So take my advise and make this on a day you are full of willpower or you just do not care if you eat 10 billion calories in one go. OK 10 billion is an exaggeration. I only did it so that you could see the difference being truth and exaggeration. Anytime, anytime.

Oh and if you are wondering: it is not too sweet despite the ingredients of condensed milk and sugar. Weird right? And you know me by now. I can’t do super sweet desserts. But this. Oh this I can.

Alright! So are you ready for sweet caramel sauce and creamy pudim? It was the first time I made it and it came out looking not bad at all!

Ingredients

– 1 can of condensed milk

– 1 can of milk (using the same can as the condensed milk)

– 3 eggs

– 1 cup of sugar

Pre-heat your oven at 180C non fan or 160C fan

First melt you sugar in a pan to make a nice caramel (I had to do this bit twice because the first time I burnt the sugar!). Do not use a spoon, move the sugar around by using the pan and moving it around that way. Transfer it to your savarin cake tin. If you don’t have one, don’t worry, a normal round one is fine too, you might however need to adjust the baking time.

In a food processor or blender put your condensed milk, milk and eggs. Blitz it all. Transfer it to the cake tin on top of the caramel you made earlier. Prepare your bain-marie: get a tray bigger than your cake tin and deep enough so that you can fill it with water. Put your cake tin in the middle. Start adding the water, ensuring you have enough water to come halfway up the cake tin.

Bake for 1 hour or until a stick comes out clean.

Wait for it to cool so that it is warm but not hot anymore (which I didn’t do as I was too inpatient! Which is why little bits of mine broke off when I took it out!). Place a plate on the top of the tin and turn it upside down to get the Pudim out. It should come out very easily. You can eat it warm and it will tasty really good but if you are patient and put it in the fridge for a couple of hours you will be rewarded by awesome creaminess.

Pudim de Leite Condensado (3)

Have a slice with a cup of coffee and everything in life will feel just that little bit better. Which is why I thought I would bring this to this week’s #Fiesta Friday. Just what we need after a busy week!

Much love!

xoxo

22 thoughts on “{Pudim de Leite Condensado} – Brazilian Flan with Condensed Milk

  1. Finally, a flan that uses all egg whites and yolks. I love flan – they are just the besy especially when you are a lover of anything sweet. ❤ Happy FF and have a great weekend. 🙂

    Like

  2. This looks absolutely delicious! I will have to practise saying pudim in time for our trip to Brazil this summer – I’m sure making this flan will help me with the accent 😉

    Like

  3. This looks so beautiful and perfectly set! I always very confused about which is what between flan and puddings and so forth…but this one does stand out to me due to all the delicious condensed milk!!

    Like

    • I have to admit that I love condensed milk. I don’t tend to have it very often for obvious reasons! But when I do I let myself enjoy it without guilt 🙂 if you like condensed milk you should try this, you’d love it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

