{Hushpuppies} Fish Balls with Spicy Dip

Pollock Hush Puppies

After all of the sweet treats I have been sharing with you guys, I thought this week we were in much need of something savoury. You know. For balance.

As you may or may not remember a while ago I bought some fine cornmeal because I wanted to make some brazilian treats. I bought it online because try as I might I couldn’t find it anywhere in the shops. I bought it and thought it was a bit expensive but it was a 1.5kg bag and the treats were worth it so I thought what the hell, why not.

I remember eagerly waiting for the delivery, opening the door to the delivery man and being faced with a huge box. I was surprised but as online sites often use completely out of proportion packaging I didn’t worry too much at that point.

I thank the delivery man. He passes me the box. The weight takes me off guard.

Oh. Hmm.

I put it down on the floor, open it. And there they are. All 6 bags, of 1.5kg each. Shit.

Pollock Hush Puppies

When Christoph got home and looked at the bags in the kitchen he thought I had lost the plot.

No dear, I did not buy 9kgs of fine cornmeal on purpose.

Yes it’s a ridiculous amount.

No, I’ve no idea what we will do with it all.

Well, since then we have made some delicious recipes, some we had made before, some we had eaten before but not made (like my Bolo de Fuba) and some we had never even heard of! What started looking like a problem turned into a bit of an adventure and that is just awesome.

And this recipe I am sharing with you today was one of the “we had never heard of” recipes.

Hushpuppies are a traditional southern food and they are fried cornmeal balls usually served with fish as a side dish. I love the idea of those little cornmeal balls accompanying fish but the pollock fillets we had were a little too thin for it to work that well on it’s own. So instead what I did was to incorporate the fish into the hushpuppies. Another change I have made is that usually they are made with buttermilk but I made them with beer. There were a couple more little tweaks and added a spicy dip to it, which also served as a salad dressing.  They turned out seriously tasty! I look forward to trying it the traditional way too with some a good piece of fish because guess what? I still have so much cornmeal to use!

Pollock Hush Puppies

Pollock Hushpuppies with Beer:

2 cups of cornmeal

1 cup of flour

1 tbsp of sugar

2 tbsp of baking powder

1 tbsp of baking soda

1 tbsp of salt

1 large onion

1 chilli (red or green, whatever you have or even hot sauce or cayenne pepper)

1 1/2 cups of beer

1 large egg

3 fillets of Pollock

Oil for frying

In a food processor put the fish fillets, the chilli (or whatever you are using for spiciness) and your onion. Blitz it so it all mixes together but it’s not complete mush, you don’t want complete mush!

In a bowl add all your dry ingredients (cornmeal flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, sugar). Give it a mix. On a separate bowl whisk the egg. Add the fish mix to your dry bowl ingredients. Give it a stir and then add the egg. Mix it and start adding the beer. Add 1 cup to start, checking the consistency of the batter. The consistency should be thick and moist but not runny or when you try to fry it will come apart in the oil. If you need more, add the rest of the beer. Leave it to rest while you heat up the oil.

Heat up the oil to 190C. Scoop your batter with a spoon and gently drop it in the oil. Do it in batches, frying them until they are beautifully crisps on the outside. Depending on the size you make them (we made big ones!) this can take from 2 min to 4 min.

Drain on paper towels.

Spicy Dip:

1 Tomato

1/2 Onion

Glug of olive oil

Hot Sauce (to taste)

A good bunch of fresh coriander

1/2 lemon

In a food processor, wizz it all up. Use it dip your hushpuppies.

Delicious!

Pollock Hush Puppies

I am taking these to Fiesta Friday, which this week is hosted by Juju @ cookingwithauntjuju and Amanda @ The Chunky Chefin. I’m bringing it in a big sharing platter. Nothing says party like a platter! Hope you all enjoy it.

Much love
xoxo

18 thoughts on “{Hushpuppies} Fish Balls with Spicy Dip

  1. Wow! That sounds a lot to deal with. You did a good job though on these fish balls – they look good and sound delish, too. 🙂 Happy FF. xx

    Like

    • Thanks so much! I love how the colours of that platter pop. They were brilliant for a snack as well as a meal. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  2. Fish balls are something I have never made – but your recipe sure makes me want to try them. Cornmeal is so plentiful here and you can get all kinds – sometimes I order it and it is always worth it. Love to use it in recipes! Happy Fiesta Friday 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks! You should have a go, they are very good. I’m so jealous that you can readily buy so many varieties! Happy FF to you too!

      Like

  3. Ohhh boy, that is totally something I would do (the accidentally ordering a ton of the cornmeal) lol 🙂 Glad you found a great way to use some of it though! I LOVE the idea of incorporating the fish into the hushpuppies themselves 🙂 Thanks for sharing this with us at Fiesta Friday 🙂 Pinned, yummed, and stumbled!

    Like

    • Haha glad I found someone that is like me too! I used to do that a lot with our normal online shopping too and be faced with kilos of ginger and 5 bags of onions. Thank god we don’t shop online anymore now that we have a car! Thanks for visiting and commenting and sharing! X

      Like

  4. Ha ha, this made me laugh so much! 9kgs of cornmeal??!! But I just love that it’s actually turned out to be a good thing. It’s like when apple season comes round and I can’t stop myself harvesting bags and bags even though I don’t know what to do with them – I know I’ll work it out in the end!
    These look delicious and how inventive to incorporate the fish into the mix. Now I can’t wait to go and look at some of your other recipes too. The Bolo de Fuba looks amazing 🙂

    Like

    • I know, 9kgs… I mean what the… But yes it all turned out for the best, although I still have 3 bags to go! I need lots and lots of inspiration! The bolo de fuba is one of my absolute favourites, have it with a nice cup of coffee and it’s perfection!

      Like

  5. Lol, been there, done that!! I still have a big bag of masa harina sitting in my pantry, all because less than 1 cup was needed for a recipe! And I’ve been trying to add more fish in my diet. So, this comes in handy for me! Thanks so much!! 😀

    Like

    • Haha brilliant. So glad I’m not alone in this! Thanks Angie, let me know if you do have a go 🙂 fish is soooooo good!

      Like

Leave a Reply

