{Cherry & Frangipane Tart}

Cherry & Frangipane TartOn our way coming back from a visit to Christoph’s parent last week end and having driven back home via the “scenic route”, we stopped on the side of the road to buy some cherries and asparagus. The asparagus had so much flavour, much more than what you get at supermarkets and at a fraction of the price! I could eat asparagus every day, it’s so darn good! The cherries were nice but still not as sweet as they can be (too soon yet for the season). I love fresh cherries and I can eat a bag full without even realising. But, as these weren’t as sweet as I would have liked for eating fresh, I thought they could go great in a tart. Frangipane came to mind for obvious reasons! Almond and cherries were made for each other. Cherry & Frangipane Tart I’ve had a couple of people today asking me what frangipane was. I think that, had they not asked me, I would have assumed that everyone knew what it was. I forget sometimes that not everyone reads about food or cooks/bakes as much as we do at home. Sorry guys. I won’t make that assumption anymore promise. Frangipane is basically a filling made with almonds. And if you have never had it before, don’t wait any longer! It’s totally delicious, if like me you like almonds. If you already know what frangipane tastes like, you know I’m telling the truth! Almonds are actually one of my favourite flavours in baking (flaked, ground, any way really) and I love Amaretto, which is an almond flavoured liqueur. To. Die. For.

Cherry & Frangipane Tart Another thought that crossed my mind when I decided to make this tart, is that this blog is seriously lacking on pie/tart action! The only one being this Pecan Pie, which is amazing, and which I must make again soon. So yes, I figured I had to remedy this pie lacking situation asap! Watch this space for more pies/tarts coming your way! Sweet but also, maybe, probably, savoury! How exciting eh! Cherry & Frangipane Tart I think the reason why I liked this pie so much was that I made the crust as thin as I could go. If you look closely you can see the light coming through! Thin pastry means perfect deliciousness. I am not one for thick pastry but if that’s your thing then go with it. Whatever makes you happy. That’s the key to enjoying yourself and your food 🙂 For this recipe I looked around a bit for recipes and kind of used a Mary Berry one with a few tweaks here and there, but to be honest it is a fairly standard recipe for both the pastry and the frangipane filling. I think that looking back I would have liked more filling as it was a tad too shallow, but this is easily doubled. Next time! Cherry & Frangipane Tart Cherry and Frangipane Tart For the pastry: 175g plain flour, plus extra for dusting 75g cold butter, cubed 25g caster sugar 1 egg, beaten For the Frangipane filling: Fresh Cherries – enough to cover the bottom of your tart, halved, pitted and dried well 75g butter, softened 75g caster sugar 2 eggs 75g ground almonds ½ tsp almond extract + Almond flakes to sprinkle on top (optional but worth it imo!) Pre-heat your oven to 190C/170C fan/non fan. Make your pastry: in a food processor mix the flour and butter until a crumbly texture. Add the sugar and give it a quick mix. Add the egg and 1/2 tbsp water (if needed you can add another 1/2). Mix it until the dough forms a ball and holds together. Wrap it in cling film and put it in the fridge for at least an hour. Roll the pastry out (as thin or as thick as you like) and cover your tart tray making sure that the pastry hangs a bit of the outside. Place some parchment paper on top and some baking beans (or rice if you don’t have baking beans). Bake blind for 15min. Halve and pit all of your cherries. In a paper kitchen towel dry them as much as you can – but don’t squish them! Place them in the bottom of the pie. Make your frangipane filling by mixing sugar and butter together until creamy. Beat your eggs and add them to the mixture mixing it all in. Next add the ground almonds and the almond extract. Mix it all together. The smell coming from this will be so good you will be tempted to forget the tart and just go get a spoon. Resist the temptation! Pour the filling into the tart on top of the cherries making sure you have spread it evenly throughout the tart. Scatter some flaked almonds on top. Bake for a further 25-30min or until everything looks golden. Cherry & Frangipane Tart This tart can be eaten warm or cold, both really good (although at home we both preferred the warm version). I’m taking this tart to this week’s Fiesta Friday. This week’s awesome co hosts are  Dini @ Giramuk’s Kitchen and Mollie @ The Frugal Hausfrau.  I cannot wait to share this tart with all you lovely party people! I hope you love it as much as we do! Much love xoxo

27 thoughts on “{Cherry & Frangipane Tart}

    • Thanks Julie! Don’t get me thinking about Amaretto liqueur again or I’m also going to have to go hit the alcohol cabinet! And then have a nice Sunday afternoon nap! haha

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Sridevi! And congratulations on the feature, very well deserved as your phyllo fruit tart was beautiful!

      Like

    • Thank you!! Oh my gosh Jhul’s dessert is incredible isn’t it? Do have a piece of this tart too though, it’s light…I’m sure you can make it! 🙂

      Like

  1. This is a beautiful addition to fiesta friday and you’re so right about cherries and almonds! They’re one of my favorite flavor combinations and when it’s frangipane that just takes it over the top! What a great idea for a not quite sweet enough to eat cherry.

    Like

    • Thank you 🙂 it was perfect as it made the tart the perfect sweetness for me. It’s a classic combination isn’t it. Eat it alongside some amaretto coffee…mmm!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I picked up a few things from the store last night – and there is a liquor store nearby. For some reason I thought I should go in and get some amaretto!

        Like

  2. What a lovely tart–and I’m amazed by how thin you rolled out the pastry! I usually only do that when I don’t make enough and need to stretch it out, but now that you’ve mentioned it, I really do prefer thin pastry as well! And I completely agree with fresh and good asparagus–there’s this stall that we sometimes can find asparagus from and it tastes so wonderful eating a handful of spears raw (it is not, however, a fraction of the price, unfortunately 🙂 ).

    Like

    • I know right? Thin pastry is the best! I’d eat asparagus in any shape or form, it truly is one of my favourites. But yes, most of the time you can only find it at a very expensive price for not very much. At least you have a place close by that sells proper tasty spears, even if not cheap!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Wowwww. Do you have any of that left? I hope you answer in the negative, because if you don’t, I may have to stalk you down and steal what’s still in your kitchen. You don’t want me to do that, I don’t want to do that, but I may just have to. This is exactly my kind of pudding. Ok, to be fair, lots of puddings are my kind of pudding. But this one looks so impressive. Look at that pastry! I would pay good money for this in any of my favourite Brighton cafes or patisseries!

    Like

    • No I don’t have any left…ahem…so if I see a woman following me around the streets of Brighton I will know it’s you! 😛 That’s also my kind of pudding, simple but delicious and not too sweet. Thanks for the comment about the pastry! Tell me, which is your favourite Brighton Cafes or patisseries? I can’t say I have tried many to be fair but would love to!

      Like

    • Thank you! It always makes me happy when someone says something nice about my pictures as I don’t have a camera so I try my best. And the tart was indeed really good. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Diana! Glad to find out your lovely blog and this awesome tart! I just wish to get cherries here, they are not very cheap.. and usually I eat them as is. 😀
    Cheers
    Mila

    Like

Leave a Reply

