Banana & Poppy Seed Cupcakes with Mascarpone and Coconut Frosting

Banana & Poppy Seed Muffin with Mascarpone and Coconut Frosting

Guys, I mean seriously, I think this is one of the best thing I’ve ever made. Honestly. These cupcakes don’t look like much but they are incredible. This is not your ordinary banana cupcake. It’s the mother of all banana cupcakes. A bold claim I know, but what the hell, I’m sticking with it! And this from someone that is not even that much into cupcakes.

I am not one to blow my own trumpet, at least not this much :P, but I feel no guilt whatsoever in doing so for these. Everything about it is awesome: the banana flavour making them super moist, the poppy seeds adding that little crunch and texture, the mascarpone making the frosting creamy but light and not too sweet and the coconut -both the cream and the toasted flakes -giving them freshness and combining beautifully with the bananas.

Now, if after this description you don’t want to dive into them, then I think there is something wrong with you. Nah I’m kidding…but really…

Banana & Poppy Seed Muffin with Mascarpone and Coconut Frosting

All good banana loaf stories start with some over-ripe bananas. This story is no different. It started with some very over-ripe bananas, a craving for coconut and a pack of poppy seeds forgotten at the back of the cupboard.

I am not a fan of hard icing with loads of butter. Just thinking about it, it makes me feel a little sick. It’s one of my odd things I guess, as I think most people enjoy that kind of frosting. So I am always thinking of ways to make a tasty frosting that is soft and tasty.

I love using mascarpone for frosting, like I used for my Parsnip and Pecan Cake with Maple Syrup (if you haven’t tried it, I highly recommend!). It’s perfect to get a nice consistency but also to get that creaminess we all want so much from frostings.

And coconut. Well coconut is simply one of the most delicious flavours out there. Right?

Banana & Poppy Seed Muffin with Mascarpone and Coconut Frosting

I was going to take some down to my neighbours downstairs as this recipe made a lot but I am ashamed to say that I didn’t. Instead, between Christoph and I we pretty much devoured the whole thing in a few days (how greedy is that!) and in the process completely ruined my exercise and eating plan. Sometimes even the best laid out plan can fail when faced with such things as this.

Banana & Poppy Seed Muffin with Mascarpone and Coconut Frosting

I think I’ve gone on about them enough don’t you? So how about we get on with the recipe?

Banana and Poppy Seed Cupcakes with Mascarpone and Coconut Frosting (yields 24 cupcakes or 12 cupcakes and 1 loaf)

For the Cupcakes:

280g of Self-raising sponge flour (sponge flour has been sifted and is quite fine, making for light sponges and batters)

200g Butter

150g Caster Sugar

4 Medium Eggs

3 Medium well ripened bananas

3 tbsps of Poppy Seeds

For the Frosting:

250g Mascarpone

2 cans of coconut milk, full fat (it should give around 185g of coconut cream)

30g Icing sugar

To make the cupcakes:

Pre-heat oven to 180C non fan or 160C fan.

Cream your butter and sugar together until creamy and pale. Beat the eggs and add it little but little to the butter and sugar mixture, mixing as you go. Mash your bananas and add it to your wet mixture. Add the poppy seeds.

Sift your flour into the mixture, bit by bit until all incorporated. Fill your cupcake cases evenly, or as evenly as you can (I wish I had an ice cream scoop for this!). Bake for 18 to 20 min.

It’s up to you if you want to make all of them cupcakes. But if you fancy having a mix of both like I did, I baked the loaf for 40min.

Leave it to cool completely.

To make the frosting:

Add the mascarpone to a bowl. Open your cans of coconut and carefully (do not shake them!) remove the cream from the top and discard the water. This should give you around 185-185g. Sift the icing sugar and mix it until is is creamy and smooth. At this point it will be a bit too runny to use it as icing. Put it in the fridge for an hour or until it has thickened and is ready to be used as frosting.

Frost your cupcakes (and/or loaf) as beautifully or as messy (if you are like me and you can’t use a piping bag properly!) as you like.

They will keep well for a few days (by day 3 they will need to be gone one way or another!) in an air tight container. Keep it in a cool place.

Banana & Poppy Seed Muffin with Mascarpone and Coconut Frosting

I’m taking these to this week’s Fiesta Friday hosted by Laurie @ ten.times.tea and Jhuls @ The Not So Creative Cook and I hope you will all gorge on them like we did! I dare you to have just one!

Much love

xoxo

EDIT: I had completely forgotten that I had “hidden” a couple of these in the freezer (probably in a futile effort to stop myself eating more of them) and I can declare that they freeze very well! The bananaa flavour seems to get even stronger, which I love.

Banana & Poppy Seed Loaf with Mascarpone and Coconut Frosting

18 thoughts on “Banana & Poppy Seed Cupcakes with Mascarpone and Coconut Frosting

  1. I am not a super banana bread fan, but your description of these banana cupcakes as the “mother of all banana cupcakes” has definitely convinced me! And your frosting sounds delicious… I do like butter-y frostings, but, you’re quite right, only when I don’t think too hard about what I’m eating! Otherwise I normally go for whipped cream…which at least has the impression of being light! I haven’t really used marscapone much (even now as I think about it, I’m a bit hazy as to how it tastes) but I can imagine how wonderfully creamy it must be without being solid butter, and with some of the body that whipped cream lacks!

    Like

  2. Oh how mouthwatering! Your parsnip cake was very popular at my work, so I think I might make these & take them in too.

    Like

    • Oooh I’m so happy to hear you like these! Please do let me know if you make them. I am sure your colleagues would love it! (I have also found out they freeze really well!)

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Yum! So much amazing stuff in one. These look definitely scrumptious, Diana. Thanks for bringing these at FF table. I hope you are having a great time. Happy FF. 🙂

    Like

    • Thank Jhuls! They aren’t the prettiest looking I have to admit but beauty is on the inside right? 🙂 Happy FF! to you too!

      Like

  4. Your cupcakes really do look beautiful and delicious… I don’t think you’ve exaggerated! 🙂 If I ever make a cupcake I hope it looks like that! And the mascarpone topping sounds yummy too! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

