Candied Orange Peels

20131222-155301.jpgCan you believe we are 3 days to Christmas! I’m getting so excited I am going slightly loony!

Remember when I said in my previous post to keep those orange skins because I had something for you? Here it is! You didn’t throw them away did you? Did you?! Well now you are either really happy or gutted you are missing out. Quick, use up a few oranges!
20131222-152730.jpg
I made these last year (you can see it here and the pictures are a step by step guide) and everyone loved it so much I thought I’d make them again this year and I used the same recipe.20131222-152751.jpg
These are really tasty. Often what people will do is roll them in sugar or dip them in chocolate. The sugar part doesn’t appeal to me at all as, as you know by now, I don’t like things that are too sugary. However the chocolate dipped option really does sound wonderful. Particularly if done with some nice dark chocolate. Mmmm. Maybe I’ll do it with a few at some point before they run out….20131222-152809.jpg
Recipe:
Peel of 3 oranges (with thick skin)
1.5 cups sugar
1/2 cup water

First of you will need to slice your orange skin into strips. This year I did them quite thin compared to last time. I really enjoy them like I did this year but you can do them slightly thicker, that’s absolutely fine!

One you have done this put your peels in a pan of cold water. Bring it to the boil. Drain and do this another 2 times, meaning you will have boiled them 3 times.

In another pan put your water and sugar. Bring it to the boil (ideally to 230c but all I did was make sure it was at hard boil for a few minutes), then add your peels and turn it down to a simmer. Make sure they are all submerged but otherwise try to not touch it too much.

Simmer for a good 30min or until they start becoming translucent. Mine took about 45min.

Remove from hob and put them to dry. Last time I put them to dry on racks and I thought to myself that maybe I could have put some parchment on first so that it didn’t leave marks on them. Obviously I forgot about it again this year! Oh well. So it’s up to you how you dry it. Mine took again about 2 days to dry ( we are by the sea and the weather has been wet wet wet this past week).

Once it’s all dry you can either be done with it and store it, which is what I did. Or you can dip them in chocolate. If you want to pass them on sugar do this before you put them to dry out.

And there you have it. A delightfully ever so slightly bitter and ever so lovely sweet candied orange peels for you to enjoy during the festive season!

20131222-152819.jpg20131222-152853.jpg

I hope you enjoy it and DO NOT throw away the sugar and water mixture they have been cooking in!! It can be used for so so many things, like drizzling on top of a cake, a little teaspoon in some tea, etc.

Much love to you all
Xoxo

2 thoughts on “Candied Orange Peels

Leave a comment